Case Study

Logo der Fahrradmarke Cube

About Cube

The Cube brand was founded in 1993 in Waldershof in the Fichtelgebirge. To this day, the bicycle manufacturer is owner-managed and has always remained true to its location in the Upper Palatinate despite its steadily growing international success in now over 60 countries.

The company’s product range is extremely broad. Currently, it includes almost all bike and e-bike product types as well as an extensive collection in the areas of clothing and accessories. With more than 4,000 bikes produced per day, Cube brings more than 1 million bikes a year to retailers worldwide.

* (Numbers 01.07.2021 – 30.06.2022)

Challenge

Navigating the stream of growth

Steady expansion of the product range, increase in incoming orders, increase in the number of employees, in short: continuous growth. Sounds like every company’s dream, doesn’t it? Yes and no. Besides the many positive effects, growth also means new challenges, especially for e-commerce. Above all, setting up and maintaining an optimized data strategy is a key task. Large volumes of data not only have to be processed, but also ideally coordinated to ensure efficient processes.

The search for the perfect interface solution

For this reason, Cube also asked for a flexible interface solution to link the many data from the various internal data sources – especially the merchandise management system – with the new Shopware 6 online catalog. Due to the desire for flexibility, the choice finally fell on the iPaaS data integration platform synQup, which was to realize the project in cooperation with the Platinum integration partner elio.

Solution

Data integration with synQup

synQup is an iPaaS e-commerce data integration framework for networking different applications of complex IT system landscapes. As a holistic, flexible and scalable interface solution, synQup replaces individual interfaces between systems and brings together all data streams in a single central data integration platform.

Consistent and automated data exchange

The middleware transforms a wide variety of data types from different data sources into the desired formats, resulting in consistent and automated data exchange. Specifically, synQup can be used to transfer all data such as product, category and customer data uni- and bidirectionally between existing applications such as PIM, ERP, CMS, CRM and store systems.

Optimal data integrity and business process optimization through synQup

As a central data hub, synQup digitizes, synchronizes, integrates and automates the existing data and thus ensures optimal data integrity – the basis for efficient e-commerce. By networking and optimally exchanging data between the relevant applications, synQup makes a strong contribution to optimizing its customers’ business processes. For Cube, synQup thus represented the ideal partner.

The collaboration of synQup, elio and Cube

While elio was tasked with setting up the new Shopware 6 e-catalog for Cube, synQup was responsible for networking it with the existing peripheral systems. For this purpose, Cube developed its own API in parallel in order to be able to act even more flexibly in its processes. synQup thus had to react agilely and dynamically to changes in the two subprojects “e-catalog development” and “API development” throughout the entire project and ensure that all projects were advanced in a harmonized manner.

Specific project requirements

In January 2022, after various preliminary discussions, the project started with a planning and workshop phase. First, Cube defined the basic requirements they had for the synQup interface. These were extremely specific and individual – many cases deviated greatly from the Shopware standard, generating some custom entities. Thanks to its technical know-how and flexibility, the synQup team mastered this challenge in the best possible way and successfully implemented the customer’s wishes.

Result

A win-win-win situation for all involved

The Shopware 6-based e-catalog went live in September 2022 – to the complete satisfaction of all parties. While Cube now benefits from efficient data management between the e-catalog and other internal systems through the use of synQup, the very specific data transfer requirements on the part of Cube have led to some optimization and core enhancements at synQup itself. This also resulted in new features for elio as an integration partner, which could be used directly in other projects.

Efficient data management and individual functions for Cube

Concrete benefits for Cube include further developments by synQup in addition to the successful API integrations. For example, a special function for product launches was created, which contributes to efficient product releases by setting up a preview system so that Cube products can be maintained and checked in advance before they are available in the e-catalog. The individual developments mentioned above include special logics such as splitting a product record with different size information into up to three separate products or compiling product properties from different sources. The implementation of cross-selling information, the optimization of image management, the implementation of multi-cache locking as well as general performance and flow optimizations were also successfully realized by synQup in the course of the project.

Long term cooperation

Ultimately, Cube also benefits in the long term through the use of synQup, as the modular structure of the middleware means that additional extensions can be added to the system at any time in the future. Thus, synQup will continue to support Cube Bikes in its expansion into digitization and business automation and grow together with the company’s e-commerce developments.

    Contact

    Do you have any questions about synQup's wide range of use cases, a potential partnership or about the company in general? Our team looks forward to hearing from you.

    *Required field

    Your contact persons

Case Study

Logo der Fahrradmarke Cube

Über Cube

Die Marke Cube wurde 1993 in Waldershof im Fichtelgebirge gegründet. Bis heute ist der Fahrradhersteller inhabergeführt und trotz des stetig wachsenden internationalen Erfolgs in mittlerweile über 60 Ländern seinem Standort in der Oberpfalz stets treu geblieben.

Das Sortiment des Unternehmens ist äußerst breit gefächert. Aktuell umfasst es nahezu alle Bike und E-Bike-Produkttypen sowie eine umfangreiche Kollektion in den Bereichen Bekleidung und Zubehör. Mit mehr als 4.000 produzierten Fahrrädern pro Tag bringt Cube im Jahr mehr als 1 Millionen Fahrräder in den weltweiten Handel.

* (Zahlen 01.07.2021 – 30.06.2022)

Herausforderung

Navigieren im Strom des Wachstums

Stetige Erweiterung des Sortiment, Erhöhung der Auftragseingänge, Steigerung der Mitarbeiterzahl, kurzum: kontinuierliches Wachstum. Klingt nach dem Traum eines jeden Unternehmens, oder? Ja und nein. Neben den vielen positiven Effekten bedeutet Wachstum auch neue Herausforderungen, besonders für den elektronischen Handel. Vor allem der Aufbau und die Einhaltung einer optimierten Datenstrategie stellt eine zentrale Aufgabe dar. Große Datenmengen müssen nicht nur verarbeitet, sondern ideal aufeinander abgestimmt werden, um effiziente Prozesse gewährleisten zu können.

Die Suche nach der perfekten Schnittstellenlösung

Aus diesem Grund stellte auch Cube die Frage nach einer flexiblen Schnittstellenlösung, um die vielen Daten aus den verschiedensten internen Datenquellen – v.a. dem Warenwirtschaftssystem – mit dem neuen Shopware 6 Online-Katalog zu verknüpfen. Durch den Wunsch nach Flexibilität, fiel die Wahl schließlich auf die iPaaS-Datenintegrationsplattform synQup, die in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Platinum Integrationspartner elio das Projekt realisieren sollte.

Lösung

Datenintegration mit synQup

synQup ist ein iPaaS E-Commerce Data Integration Framework zur Vernetzung unterschiedlicher Anwendungen komplexer IT-Systemlandschaften. Als ganzheitliche, flexible und skalierbare Schnittstellenlösung ersetzt synQup einzelne Schnittstellen zwischen Systemen und führt sämtliche Datenströme in einer einzigen zentralen Datenintegrationsplattform zusammen.

Konsistenter und automatisierter Datenaustausch

Dabei transformiert die Middleware unterschiedlichste Datentypen aus verschiedenen Datenquellen in die gewünschten Formate, wodurch ein konsistenter und automatisierter Datenaustausch entsteht. Konkret können mit synQup sämtliche Daten wie Produkt-, Kategorie- und Kundendaten uni- und bidirektional zwischen den vorhandenen Anwendungen wie PIM-, ERP-, CMS-, CRM- und Shop-System transferiert werden.

Optimale Datenintegrität und Geschäftsprozessoptimierung durch synQup

Als zentrale Datendrehscheibe digitalisiert, synchronisiert, integriert und automatisiert synQup die vorhandenen Daten und sorgt so für eine optimale Datenintegrität – die Grundlage für effizientes E-Commerce. Durch die Vernetzung und den optimalen Datenaustausch zwischen den betreffenden Anwendungen trägt synQup stark zur Optimierung der Geschäftsprozesse seiner Kunden bei. Für Cube stellte synQup damit den idealen Partner dar.

Die Zusammenarbeit von synQup, elio und Cube

Während elio den Auftrag hatte, den neuen Shopware 6 E-Katalog für Cube aufzusetzen, war synQup dafür zuständig, diesen mit den vorhandenen Umsystemen zu vernetzen. Cube entwickelte dafür parallel eine eigene API, um in seinen Prozessen noch flexibler agieren zu können. synQup musste somit während des gesamten Projekts agil und dynamisch auf Änderungen der beiden Teilprojekte “E-Katalog-Entwicklung” und “API-Entwicklung” reagieren und sicherstellen, dass alle Vorhaben harmonisiert vorangetrieben werden.

Spezifische Projektanforderungen

Im Januar 2022 startete das Projekt nach diversen Vorgesprächen mit einer Planungs- und Workshop-Phase. Zunächst wurde dabei von Cube definiert, welche grundsätzlichen Anforderungen sie an die Schnittstelle von synQup haben. Diese waren äußerst spezifisch und individuell – viele Fälle wichen stark vom Shopware Standard ab, wodurch einige Custom Entities generiert wurden. Das synQup-Team hat diese Herausforderung dank seines technischen Know- hows und seiner Flexibilität optimal gemeistert und die Wünsche des Kunden erfolgreich umgesetzt.

Ergebnis

Eine Win-Win-Win-Situation für alle Beteiligten

Der E-Katalog auf Shopware 6 Basis wurde im September 2022 live genommen – zur vollsten Zufriedenheit aller Parteien. Während Cube nun durch den Einsatz von synQup von einem effizienten Datenmanagement zwischen E-Katalog und weiteren internen Systemen profitiert, haben die sehr spezifischen Anforderungen seitens Cube an die Datenübertragung zu einigen Optimierungen und Core-Erweiterungen bei synQup selbst geführt. Auch für elio als Integrationspartner ergaben sich hierdurch neue Features, die direkt in anderen Projekten verwendet werden konnten.

Effizientes Datenmanagement und individuelle Funktionen für Cube

Konkrete Benefits für Cube sind neben der erfolgreichen API-Integrationen auch weitere Entwicklungen durch synQup. So wurde u.a. eine spezielle Funktion für Product-Launches geschaffen, die zu effizienten Produktveröffentlichungen beiträgt, indem durch die Einrichtung eines Preview-Systems Cube-Produkte vorab gepflegt und geprüft werden können, bevor sie im E-Katalog verfügbar sind. Zu den erwähnten Individualentwicklungen gehören v.a. Sonderlogiken wie die Aufsplittung eines Produktdatensatzes mit verschiedenen Größeninformationen in bis zu drei separate Produkte oder die Zusammensetzung von Produkteigenschaften aus verschiedenen Quellen. Auch die Implementierung von Cross-Selling-Informationen, die Optimierung des Bildermanagements, die Umsetzung von Multi-Cache-Locking sowie allgemeine Performance- und Flow-Optimierungen wurden von synQup im Zuge des Projekts erfolgreich realisiert.

Langfristige Zusammenarbeit

Letztlich profitiert Cube durch den Einsatz von synQup auch langfristig, da durch den modularen Aufbau der Middleware auch in Zukunft zusätzliche Erweiterungen jederzeit an das System angeknüpft werden können. So wird synQup Cube Bikes auch weiterhin bei der Expansion in Digitalisierung und Business Automatisierung unterstützen und gemeinsam mit den Entwicklungen im E-Commerce-Bereich des Unternehmens wachsen.

    Kontakt

    Sie haben Fragen zu den vielfältigen Einsatzmöglichkeiten von synQup, zu einer potentiellen Partnerschaft oder ganz allgemein zum Unternehmen? Unser Team freut sich auf Ihre Nachricht.

    *Pflichtfeld

    Ihre Ansprechpartner